Competitions


Hello! I am Casey. One of the Nao robots. The humans around here asked me to introduce you to the rules of our game.

We are playing soccer (as you might have guessed already). We are usually playing on teams of five robots on fields nine meters long and six meters wide. If you have watched some of our videos you might have noticed that there are sometimes less than five robots on the field. This usually happens if the humans failed to teach us the game properly or if we suffer from serious injuries.

The games are usually the most exciting part for us, as these are the times where we do not have to listen to the humans and can do as we want. As soon as the match starts we do all decisions on our own and play without listening to any instructions of the humans.


Casey

The game has two halves, each ten minutes long. In between there is a ten minute break where we can cool down, recharge and are taken care of by the humans (only fair as we are doing all the hard work after all :P ).


Waistbands


As of this season, the humans make us wear coloured waistbands so they can easily tell the teams apart. One team uses a blue waistbands while the other team plays with a magenta one. We are more or less amused over these waistbands with questionable fashion value. We do not need them to recognize our teammates as we are allowed to talk via wireless LAN, which usually works better for us than looking out for the waistbands.

There are a few other rules about goals, pickups, returning to the field and placing the ball after outs and goals. I will only tell you the basics here. You will find the rest in the official rulebook.


We are supposed to use our feet to score goals. Hands contact implies that the goal is not counted. The team with kick-off is not allowed to score a goal right away. The ball must have left the center circle before a goal is counted. The defending team is not limited by this rule. They may score right away if they reach the ball fast enough.

The rules for penalties are quite complicated in detail. The basic principle is: do not walk were you are not allowed to and do not bump some bot over. Bumping or pushing a robot while you are not fighting over the ball gets you an 30 seconds penalty. Injured robots are taken out as well. The goalie is the only player allowed to enter his team’s penalty area. Other players get a 30 seconds penalty as soon as they try. However we are all allowed to enter the other team’s penalty area, even their goal. In the end, we are not allowed to leave the field and neither harm humans.
Oh how we tried.


Casey

RoboCup 2016, Leipzig

3rd place

RoboCup 2015, Hefei

3rd place

German Open 2015, Magdeburg

2nd place

Iran Open 2015, Tehran

1st place

RoboCup 2014, João Pessoa

2nd place

German Open 2014, Magdeburg

2nd place

RoboCup 2013, Eindhoven

2nd place

German Open 2013, Magdeburg

2nd place

AUT Cup 2012, Teheran

1st place

RoboCup 2012, Mexico

4th place

RoboCup 2011, Istanbul

4th place

RoboCup German Open 2011, Magdeburg

3rd place

RoboCup 2010, Singapore

Quarter finals, 1st place in Open Challenge

RoboCup German Open 2010, Magdeburg

5th place

RoboCup 2009, Graz

1st place in Technical Challenge

1st place in RobotStadium world championship

RoboCup German Open 2009, Hannover

2nd place

Wettbewerbe


Hallo! Ich bin Casey, einer der Nao-Roboter. Die Menschen aus meinem Team haben mich gebeten, euch die Regeln unseres Spiels näher zu bringen.

Wir spielen Fußball (wie ihr euch sicher schon denken konntet). Normalerweise spielen wir in Teams bestehend aus 5 Robotern auf einem 9m langen und 6m breiten Feld. Falls ihr schon ein paar unserer Videos gesehen habt, ist euch vielleicht aufgefallen, dass manchmal weniger als fünf Roboter auf dem Feld stehen. Das passiert normalerweise nur, wenn die Menschen uns das Spiel nicht richtig beigebracht haben oder wenn wir schlimm verletzt sind.

Die Spiele sind der aufregendeste Teil für uns, da wir nicht auf die Menschen hören müssen sondern tun und lassen können was wir wollen. Sobald das Spiel beginnt, treffen wir alle Entscheidungen selbst, ohne auf die Anweisungen der Menschen zu hören.


Casey

Ein Spiel hat zwei Hälften, jede ist zehn Minuten lang. Dazwischen sind zehn Minuten Pause, wo wir uns abkühlen können, wieder aufgeladen werden und sich die Menschen um uns kümmern. (Ist auch nur fair, da wir schließlich die ganze harte Arbeit machen :P).


Hüftbänder


Seit einigen Saisons zwingen uns die Menschen farbige Bänder um die Hüften zu tragen, sodass wir leichter vom anderen Team zu unterscheiden sind. Eines der Teams spielt mit den blauen Bändern und das Andere trägt pink. Wir amüsieren uns immer noch über diese Hüftbänder mit fragwürdigem Modewert. Wir brauchen sie nicht, da wir mit unseren Teamkameraden über WLAN sprechen dürfen, was meistens besser funktioniert als nach den Hüftbändern zu schauen.

Es gibt noch ein paar andere Regeln über Tore, das Hochheben, sowie über das Zurückkehren zum Feld und die Plazierung des Balls nach Outs und Toren. Ich werde euch aber nur die Grundlagen näher bringen, den Rest könnt ihr im offiziellen Regelbuch wiederfinden.


Wir sollen nur unsere Füße benutzen um Tore zu machen. Wenn wir Hände benutzen, wird das Tor nicht gezählt. Das Team, das den Anstoß hat, darf nicht sofort ein Tor schießen. Der Ball muss außerhalb des Mittelkreises gespielt worden sein, damit das Tor gezählt wird. Das verteidigende Team ist nicht von dieser Regel betroffen. Es darf sofort ein Tor schießen, vorausgesetzt es erreicht den Ball schnell genug.

Die Regeln für Strafen sind im Detail ziemlich kompliziert, aber das Grundprinzip ist: Lauf nicht da lang, wo es nicht erlaubt ist und schmeiß keine Bots um. Anrempeln oder Anstoßen eines anderen Roboters, wenn man nicht um den Ball kämpft, bringt dir eine Strafe von 30 Sekunden ein. Verletzte Roboter werden auch rausgenommen. Der Torwart ist der einzige Spieler, der den Strafraum des eigenen Teams betreten darf. Andere Spieler bekommen eine Strafe von 30 Sekunden, sobald sie das versuchen. Aber wir dürfen den Strafraum des anderen Teams betreten, sogar das Tor. Letztendlich dürfen wir weder das Spielfeld verlassen noch Menschen verletzen.
Oh, wie oft wir das schon versucht haben.


Casey

RoboCup 2016, Leipzig

3. Platz

RoboCup 2015, Hefei

3. Platz

German Open 2015, Magdeburg

2. Platz

Iran Open 2015, Tehran

1. Platz

RoboCup 2014, João Pessoa

2. Platz

German Open 2014, Magdeburg

2. Platz

RoboCup 2013, Eindhoven

2. Platz

German Open 2013, Magdeburg

2. Platz

AUT Cup 2012, Teheran

1. Platz

RoboCup 2012, Mexiko

4. Platz

RoboCup 2011, Istanbul

4. Platz

RoboCup German Open 2011, Magdeburg

3. Platz

RoboCup 2010, Singapur

Viertelfinale, 1. Platz in der Open Challenge

RoboCup German Open 2010, Magdeburg

5. Platz

RoboCup 2009, Graz

1. Platz in der Technical Challenge

1. Platz in der RobotStadium Weltmeisterschaft

RoboCup German Open 2009, Hannover

2. Platz